School Board Candidate Forum Tonight

The Electric will host an online forum with the candidates on April 19 from 6-7:30 p.m. The candidates will be in one room and we’ll stream the discussion on Facebook live on The Electric’s page.

There are eight candidates running for one open seat on the school board.

The election is a mail ballot on May 4.

Ballots will be mailed April 19 to registered voters.

We’ll have questions prepared ahead of time and take some from the online audience during the event.

To submit questions, email them to

The Electric reported in early March that no candidates had filed for the seat currently held by Teresa Schreiner. She is not seeking reelection.

Here is the list of all candidates that filed as of the close of filing March 25:

  • Russell Herring
  • Scott Jablonski
  • Kevin V. Leatherbarrow
  • Nathan Reiff
  • Tucker Lee Schleining
  • Dustin C. Shoemake
  • Genevieve Smyth
  • Marlee Sunchild

The deadline to file as a write-in candidate was April 1. Anyone who files as a write-in will not have their name on the ballot, but they must have filed as a write-in candidate to be considered if their names are written in on the ballot.

April 1 was also the last day to withdraw from the race to have a candidate’s name removed from the ballot.

More information on how to register to vote is available on the Cascade County Elections Office at 325 2nd Ave. N. or call 454-6803

Categories: General

%d bloggers like this: